Spring/Summer 2014 Fashion Trends At The 2014 Academy Awards: Let’s Go Nude! (Color, That Is)

Wow, so I knew the Academy Awards’ Red Carpet would be amazing, but I never foresaw that 22 women would end up in my “Love It” folder. There are so many that I’m going to have to divide this. Instead of doing the typical “Best Dressed” and “Worst Dressed” thing, I’m going to kill two birds with one stone and use the looks to show off Spring/Summer 2014 trends.

There were a few of the trends at the Oscars, but I think I’m going to start with my favorite, which was the whole nude (color, not birthday suit) trend that’s huge for spring. (And yeah, I realize that puts my title in very sketchy territory so I’m going to have to be pretty creative with that).

The nude trend has slowly been getting traction over the years until, this year, it’s begun to dominate. Sure, the normal springy colors will always be in, but this is a fresh way to celebrate the spring. Because what better to celebrate rebirth than to look like you’re wearing nothing at all while still being totally modest. See, that’s the key to this trend. It’s usually not about showing skin. It’s about making people think you’re showing skin. The best part, it’s super flattering! Especially if you can match it really closely to your skin tone.

Too scared to go full nude? Then a few accessories, especially pumps the same color as your skin, are a good way to try the trend. When heels are the same color as your legs, it elongates them; makes them appear as long as a supermodel’s. Okay, not quite that long, but you get the gist. If that’s still a little too daring for you, then nude makeup and nails are a fun way to try it out without being a little too crazy.

So now that I’ve given you some ideas, let’s go to the red carpet. Nude dresses have been showing up on red carpets for a while, but it wasn’t until this year where it kind of seemed to be theme. Especially for the Oscars which are usually more about playing it safe than trying something different.

Cate Blanchett wore an Armani Privé that literally melted into her skin. If it wasn’t for the beading with hanging round sequins, you would think she literally was wearing her birthday suit. I’ll admit that this dress really made me happy because I’ve felt so awful since the SAG Awards when I said that she looked like she was wearing Winnie the Pooh Couture. This dress helped me kind of get over that so I could adore her fashion sense once again.

Another nude dress I adored was Jenna Dewan-Tatum’s Reem Acra gown. It was classic with a ballroom dancer twist. Or perhaps figure skater. The top half was very similar to something the female skaters wore at the Olympics and then had such delicate ruffles at the bottom that it looked like feathers.

Giuliana Rancic wore a total princess dress by Paolo Sebastian. The nude part of it kind of had a different tint to it. It’s hard to tell exactly what since every camera it’s a little different, but it’s a pretty color. Not something you would really expect on the Oscars red carpet. What was the most incredible part about it was the floral beading on the top. It was perfectly paired with a high waist and one of the poufiest skirts ever.

On the opposite end of things was Cristin Milioti’s Reem Acra gown. I saw a lot of people give her crap for this dress. Saying that pale girls shouldn’t wear nude because it’s too close to their skin color. But I completely disagree. I think wearing a dress close to your skin color, no matter what your skin color, is really pretty. Besides, she made sure to wear dark lipstick so she didn’t disappear so much. And I LOVE that she decided to go sans necklace to really make the nude color work the way it’s supposed to work. I think the haters are just people who don’t understand and like this trend.

One of the coolest dresses of the night was Laura Dern’s Alberta Ferretti. It was a nude with a tiny bit of a blush tint to it. Well, it could have been all blush, but it was close enough to her skin tone to have that nude feel to it. What I liked the most about it was the structural feel to the bodice. She paired it perfectly with a clutch and a side-swept hairdo that kissed her shoulders. Everything about it was a do. Literally. There is nothing with her look that I’m not obsessed with. I haven’t seen her in anything for what feels like years, so I totally forgot about her, but she came out there in that look and I probably won’t forget about her again. It makes me want to watch Jurassic Park again even though I tend to have dreams about T-Rex trying to eat me every time I do.

Kristin Bell wore a Roberto Cavalli gown that kind of felt similar to Laura Dern’s. It was pretty similar in hue, though with a little less blush tint. She was really elegant in it, even though she admitted to not being able to sit down to the point where she had to pee in a mason jar instead. True story. And apparently she was hiding a burrito in her clutch. It’s nice to know that she knows her priorities. Anyways, even with all the chaos of the mason jar debacle, she looked effortless.

Now, Portia de Rossi’s Naeem Khan gown may or may not have been a shade of nude (more off-white, if you ask me). But the fact that was pretty much see-through kind of makes it nude in my eyes. I know she got on worst dressed lists for it, but I literally adored it. Somehow it managed to be elegant and edgy at the same time, which not many people can pull off. So props to her because it was amazing.

Last but not least was the feathery gown that Georgina Chapman donned. If you don’t know that name, she’s one of the founders of Marchesa. It was a lot lighter than her skin, which I liked because it shows another way to wear the trend. Especially for people who are darker than a nude color could ever be. It made her sun-kissed skin really stand out. It was almost an accessory in and of itself.

Not everyone was a slam dunk to me. Jessica Biel wore a gorgeous Chanel gown, but the whole look kind of lacked the oomph I want to see at the Oscars. Maybe it was that she dressed it up with so much jewelry, but then kept the lipstick so low-key. I know  a lot of the other ladies didn’t wear intense lipstick, but they were working the dress and nude color more than the jewelry so the minimalism worked. But if you’re going to fight the dress by adding a billion diamonds, then natural-colored lips kind of look like you forgot to put something on.

Then there was the Valentino gown that Sally Hawkins wore. The dress was beautiful, but from the neck up, Sally just looked like she was going to the mall. It was just really bizarre to me. It was like, when I was a teenager, and some of my friends would cut pictures out of magazines and then put their own faces on it. Or like those things at fairs with the hole for you head so you can be some crazy something. I just really wish she’d tried more to look congruent.

If you think that was harsh, I haven’t even started with the ones that majorly made me cringe. Sarah Paulson wore a beautiful Elie Saab gown, but again, the head up just drove me crazy, but enough to make me hate instead of just wish for something better. I think, had she done a smoky eye and a lipstick that didn’t match her dress, then the hair could have worked. But again, it’s the Oscars. It’s not supposed to be casual!

But hey, it was better than Julie Delpy’s Jenny Packham gown. It’s this weird starburst thing that made her have to stick her arms out all night so you could see the vision of the gown. Problem is, it wasn’t that great. Okay, it had a vintage feel to it, and I like vintage, though I’d never wear it because I’m more a rock and roll girl, but there was something so off about it that it made me cringe. I think it was just the balance. The balance felt so weird and off.

But not as off as the Elie Saab gown that Angelina Jolie wore. The color of it was fine. It was a darker nude with some gray undertones to it. But what really got me was the way that it fit her. It fit like something a grandma would wear. It was just so, well, so frumpy. Is it really bad that it made me think of the plum at the beginning of Candy Land? Well, other than the color of course (and I don’t mean that mean because I always adored Plumpy. He was my favorite character in that game). But Angelina is so absolutely thin, so for her to look like Plumpy, that’s kind of scary to me. Unless that was what she was trying to do. Get people to stop picking on her about her weight, because they sure are jerks about it. On the plus side, her makeup was flawless. So, even in that awful dress, she still looked gorgeous. But really, it’s Angelina Jolie. I don’t think she could ever look anything but.

For pictures, click this link to go to the original post: http://convozine.com/fierceandfreefashion/37777

So I’m not sure what trend I’ll with for next week, but I do know you won’t want to miss it because there are some amazing dresses, and some amazingly awful dresses, that you’ve got to see. Sure, you can look somewhere else for them, but then you’d miss my smashing wit. And hey, I injured myself and have been living off pain meds until I get surgery so you never know what those suckers are going to make me think and say. They gave me a dream where my body was made out of bread dough and someone was chopping me up so I’m pretty sure there are no limits to my insanity at the moment. It might entertain you a little. It sure has been entertaining me. Of course, we all know now that I am literally insane so it doesn’t take much to entertain me. Until then,  check out Fierce and Free Fashion on Facebook, https://www.facebook.com/pages/Fierce-and-Free-Fashion/370678573052242, Tumblr, http://adseeleyauthor.tumblr.com, Pinterest, http://pinterest.com/adseeleyauthor, or my Instagram http://instagram.com/adseeleyauthor.

Enhanced by Zemanta
Leave a Reply

