Fashion From the 2014 Grammy Awards: The Daring, Classy, and Hideous

I know, I know. I always say that I love whatever show’s red carpet I’m talking about, but this time I mean it a little more than usual. See, where the Hollywood red carpets are glamorous and chic, the Grammy’s are wild and fun. I’ve always been a bit of a rebel (just ask my mom, though she thinks I was a much worse child than I actually was). Or read my Cain books. My main character, Cain (the immortal son of Adam and Eve) is a mass murderer and tyrant who secretly owns the world. The whole first book in the trilogy is about him trying to corrupt the main female character so he can murder her. See? I like bad and rebellious, even though I swear I’m an angel. Nobody will believe you, but I still swear it.

Anyway, because of my love for the naughty, I was really looking forward to this year’s Grammy Awards. Especially to see what Miley Cyrus, Rihanna, and Lady Gaga would wear…which is why my heart was almost broken when those three didn’t show up! But I suppose that’s okay because there still were some really daring gowns. I’m going to start with those, and then move to my top picks followed by my less favorite picks.

So there were two dresses that really stood out for me because skin was literally the most important factor in them. Those were the gowns worn by Beyonce (Michael Costello) and Paris Hilton (Haus of Milani). Even though Beyonce’s kind of looked more like a doily wrapped around her, I kind of liked it. I’m not sure if I LOVED it, but I loved the guts it took to wear it. As for Paris, I LOVED her gown. Okay, from the front it looked more like just a piece of fabric hanging there, but from the back…OMG. It suddenly turns into this whole other thing. Like someone from a cake decorating class had her lay on her stomach and then started decorating her nude flesh. I’m not sure why, but I really liked that gown.

Okay, now for the looks I loved without any reservations, and pretty much from any angle. So my favorite look of the night was the gold Emilio Pucci that Ciara wore. I didn’t even know she was pregnant! Yet here she comes, flaunting it in the best way on the red carpet. I’ve been really mean towards the choices of pregnant women on the red carpet this awards season. Well, to those I’ve been mean about, THIS is how you do pregnant. Man, Ciara kills it.

The next best dress, in my opinion, was Chrissy Teigen’s gold Johanna Johnson gown. I was trying to only write about people in the music industry, (hey, Paris had that one hit that I actually hate to love) but Chrissy looked so amazing that I have to give her props.

Next was the sexy Azzaro gown that Anna Kendrick wore (I’m counting her as a singer because of Pitch Perfect). The dress had this cool triangular peep area in the décolletage that reminded me of the infamous white bandaged outfit LeeLoo wore in the beginning of The Fifth Element. Take that and add floral beading and a high center slit, and you have a major do.

Speaking of décolletage, Alicia Keys wore a bright cobalt Armani Privé gown that really showed off, not only that area, but ALL her curves. From the wrong angles it wasn’t completely flattering, but from the right ones, man, it was seriously gorgeous. Miranda Lambert wore a bright red Pamella Roland that achieved the same thing as it was pretty similar to Alicia’s gown. Tamar Braxton also looked amazing in a red Michael Costello gown with the focus on the bust that kind of reminded me of devil horns, in a really good way.

Kacey Musgraves was chic and classy in an Armani Privé the color of her flesh created out of wispy ruffles. Zendaya Coleman wore a sheer top with a turquoise polka dot skirt by Emanuel Ungaro. It has these ruffly sides that add an edge to it. I remember seeing that on the runway and loving it, so it’s fun to see someone young wearing it. Her slicked back hair really completes the look.

Taylor Swift is always gorgeous, and her gold Gucci Premiere is the perfect gown for her. It’s classy and serious, which is kind of how I think of her. Sara Bareilles wore a cool rosette-covered high-low Blumarine gown. I kind of hated her shoes, but the dress was really pretty. Skylar Grey wore this fleshy, rubbery Michael Costello that I know a lot of people hated, but I thought it was kind of cool. It was a nude color, with a diamond cut-out at the waist that showed off skin at the same time that you kind of didn’t realize it was showing it off.

Ariana Grande looked adorable in her floral Dolce & Gabbana. It had a retro feel to it. Again, I hated the shoes since they kind of screamed granny, but the rest of the look was killer. Sarah Hyland wore a black and white Emilio Pucci that looked really cute on her. It felt modern and minimalistic, and the shoes were the perfect way to punch up the outfit. Faith Evans wore a cool animal-print leather gown.

Martina McBride looked really beautiful in her navy David Meister gown that really brought out her eyes. Bonnie McKee also wore blue (Gustavo Cadile), but what I really liked was her purse, which matched her hair. The purse was seriously cool. It looked like she found some huge gem in the earth and grabbed it and turned it into a clutch.

Kelly Osbourne wore a black Badgley Mischka that (FINALLY!!!) didn’t match her hair. Well, okay, a tiny bit it did because it had purple stones on the shoulders. But it’s done in such a small way that it actually looks really cool. I wasn’t a huge fan of the cape on it, but it wasn’t TOO noticeable. Katy Perry wore a gown from the Valentino Haute Couture runway only a few days before the Grammy’s. I really like the bottom half of it. It’s all tulle with music notes, which is obviously appropriate for a music awards show. However, the top half fit her really weird.

Now for the ones that I didn’t particularly care for….

To continue reading this, and for pictures, go to Fierce and Free Fashion’s Convozine page: http://convozine.com/fierceandfreefashion/37471

Enhanced by Zemanta
Leave a Reply

