The Fashion From the 2014 SAG Awards: The Cute, Eh, and Not So Cute

Another week, another awards show. Thing is, I never get sick of them, so I hope you don’t either because this week, it’s all about the Screen Actor’s Guild Awards (SAGs). Since I’m lazy, I’m going to do it in alphabetical order (by the first name) like I did last week. I’ve been really ill this week so it’s kind of amazing that I’m writing an article at all. As always, I’ll also start with the ones I liked, and work my way down to the ones that I just didn’t get.

Abigail Breslin proves she’s all grown up in a black Chagoury dress with a sparkly shrug. For me, it’s kind of weird, because I still think of her as that slightly-chubby little girl. The fact that she’s now old enough to rock it on the red carpet makes me feel really old. Amy Adams wore this either purple or blue (pictures get the color wrong a lot of times) Antonio Berardi. It had an interesting asymmetrical bust with one sleeve that was edgy while remaining classic and beautiful.

Anna Gunn was FABULOUS in a blue sparkly Monique Lhuiller. She looked tall and lean and her accessories and slightly wild hair really went well with it. Claire Danes also wore wild bed-head hair with her cool Vionnet gown. She reminds me of a rock star who went to bed after a concert and woke up remembering she had to go to the SAGs so she threw on something that was rumpled on the floor, but in a spectacularly awesome way.

Edie Falco wore this really cool butterfly Lanvin high-low dress that was perfectly paired with these really cool shoes that lent an edgy vibe. Elisabeth Moss wore a bright red Michael Kors with a belted waist, and Elisabeth Rohm a neck to wrist to toe white lace Marchesa. Giuliana Rancic wore this fabulous shade of purple in a Basil Soda gown. I’ve never heard of that brand, but I’ll definitely be checking them out now.

Helen Mirren, ah, my absolute favorite Brit, looked beautiful in a black and gold Escada gown. I swear, this woman is one of the most regal women on the planet. Isla Fisher was sexy and free in a white Oscar de la Renta with mermaid waves to one side. Jane Krankowski wore a jade Roland Mouret, Jennifer Garner a navy Max Mara. Jennifer Lawrence, as always, wore a Dior, but this time it was all rainbowy and sparkly. Fun and fresh.

Julie Bowen wore a really interesting Carolina Herrera. It has an orange bustier top and then this black and white graphic skirt. What’s weird is that I never would have liked the dress, I don’t think. It feels a little R2-D2 like if it had been blue instead of orange. But somehow, I REALLY like it. I guess I find it refreshing in a sea of very similar gowns.

Kaley Cuoco was gorgeous in a white Vera Wang. Unlike at the Golden Globes, I felt like her hair went well with her dress. Katrina Bowden had a seriously cool black Badgley Mischka with a gold piece at the very top. Laura Carmichael and her gold Vionnet with one side slit cut wide and ruffled paired with strappy black heels was one of my favorites of the night. And her animal print bracelet? Seriously? Whoever her stylist is, I really like them.

As always, Lupita Nyong’o wore a really bright, fun color, that really makes her skin shine. She’s one of the only people who I think could beat out Helen Mirren and Cate Blanchett in a regalness competition. I’ll be honest, I’m not really a fan of the top part of her Gucci, but she pulls it off.

Malin Ackerman was another favorite of the night in her rebellious Naeem Khan. It’s one that I want to see up close in the details to see what material it is and how it was made. It looks soft and rough at the same time. Melissa Rauch wore a black Rubin Singer that was really classy paired with green accessories that gave it a fun, young vibe.

Michelle Dockery wore a black and white J. Mendel with a deep plunge V-neck that totally looks classy on her to the point where you forget how rebellious it actually is. Mindy Kaling wore a navy David Meister paired with gold accessories, which is interesting because I usually see navy with silver. So it gave it a fun and fresh vibe. Morena Baccarin wore a blue Monique Lhuillier. I kind of wish she’d worn a statement necklace with it and worn the bracelet on the opposite hand than she held the clutch, but I still really liked the look.

Oprah wore a purple Badgley Mischka that went well with her skin tone. I liked how it was mostly covered expect one side of the bust was pulled down with jewels to really bring the center of attention to her face, and seriously, wasn’t her hair just absolutely cool? Rita Wilson wore a silver sparkly gown with black bands down the sides so the silver didn’t totally overwhelm her. Sandra Bullock wore a green metallic Lanvin with a gathered slit to show off one seriously toned leg. It’s one of my favorite fashion moments of hers.

The blush pink Pamella Roland gown that Sarah Hyland wore was really flattering. I felt like her look was age appropriate this time around, where at the Golden Globes, she felt sort of matronly. And seriously? Her shoes were adorable. Sofia Vergara wore an all silver Donna Karan that had details to move with her curves and bring them out. Worn with a statement necklace and old Hollywood waves, she totally killed it.

Last but not least, Tina Fey was classy and chic in her black Oscar de la Renta with sheer panels in the bottom of her dress. I always like when she goes classy because, as a comedian, I always thought of her more as silly and goofy, so it’s nice to see another side of her.

Now for the “okay, or would be better if looks.” We’ll start with Gretchen Mol. There wasn’t anything wrong with her white J. Mendel gown. I just kind of didn’t like the mesh top. Was she going to an awards show or a tennis match? I probably would have loved it in black, but in white it just made me think of that netting in men’s swimming suits or tennis shorts or something.

Holly Hunter wore a beautiful red gown, but her makeup was lacking. It was like she jumped out of the shower and went to the show, where the gown kind of demanded some sort of dramatic makeup, whether that be a cat eye or red lip. Julia Louis Dreyfus looked really pretty in her navy and blue Monique Lhuillier, but the way it was cut only made her look kind of stumpy. I know she’s short, but there are ways to make yourself look tall and lean and ways to make yourself look squat. She chose the squat.

And WTF was up with Julia Roberts?!!! Again she leaves me so confused! This time it was a pink Valentino that I think might actually be pants? The top half, gorgeous. The bottom half? I literally have no words.

The floral Vivienne Westwood Juliette Lewis wore gave her the same issue as Julia Louis Dreyfus. She’s a really petite person, but this cut her body off in the majorly wrong place. I think, if the top went higher instead of draping as it did, then this could have been a cute look for her.

Kelly Osbourne had a really pretty Zac Posen. It was just a little too matchy-matchy with her hair. Maybe if she’d pulled her hair up so it was more about the dress, then I would have adored it. Lena Headey wore a striped orange and black Jenny Packham. There wasn’t anything wrong with it. I just didn’t like the whole look together. Maybe if her hair had been different or something, then I would have thought differently.

Last but not least was Sarah Paulson. The dress? Adored. It’s a huge white puff that I love. But the hair? It made her look too “Little Miss Muffet.” Okay, so it would have worked on a young actress like Hailee Steinfeld or something, but not someone Sarah’s age.

Now, what you’ve been waiting for, the bad….

For pictures, and to continue reading, go to Fierce and Free Fashion’s Convozine page: http://convozine.com/fierceandfreefashion/37408

Enhanced by Zemanta
Leave a Reply

